Back to Top

Open Mon - Sun: 7.30am – 6.00pm

Bishops, Administrators & Deans


1850-1856George Brown
1856-1873Alexander Goss
1874-1894Thomas O’Reilly
1894-1911Thomas Whiteside


1911-1921Thomas Whiteside
1921-1928Frederick Keating
1928-1953Richard Downey
1953-1956William Godfrey (later Cardinal)
1957-1963John Heenan (later Cardinal)
1964-1976George Beck
1976-1995Derek Worlock
1996-2013Patrick Kelly
2014-Malcolm McMahon

 Assistant Bishops

1856-1873Alexander Goss
1922-1942Robert Dobson
1945-1958Joseph Halsall
1966-1978Augustine Harris
1969-1980Joseph Gray
1979-1993Kevin O’Connor
1979-1988Anthony Hitchen
1981-1997John Rawsthorne
1989-2006Vincent Malone
2003-Thomas Williams

Cathedral Administrators & Deans

1958-1975Thomas McKenna
1976-1979Michael O’Connor
1979-1989Vincent Malone
1989-2002Peter Cookson
2002-2005Peter Cookson
2005-Anthony O’Brien

The Archdiocese of Liverpool Churches Together Liverpool Cathedral MSP AV Visit Liverpool